Emergency lights with built in battery backup

JamieP

Emergency lights with built in battery backup

Post by JamieP »

7.2.1.3 (b) Central system emergency evacuation lighting complying with the AS
or AS/NZS 2293 series.

Can someone explain to me what a central system is? I'm pretty new to having to deal with emergency lights. Also if not a central system, is this essentially saying none of section 7.2 applies?
AlecK
Answers: 5

Re: Emergency lights with built in battery backup

Post by AlecK »

A "central system" is where there's one battery in a central location, with (typically) ELV d.c. subcircuits from there to the emergency luminaires. The definition is in 2293.1 .
As against a
Central systems used to be very common, so still many in service. New ones are almost unheard of these days, because it's difficult to create a central system that meets all the current requirements. Eg the e-lights for any area need to respond to loss of normal power to normal lights in that area. Also circuits passing from one fire-separated part to another need to be fire rated (note the Exception under 7.2.7.2 for wiring of single-point E/L systems).

You might wonder why this sort of thing wild get a mention in that clause of '3000'. Basically that reference is there because there's a good chance that people might just assume that a central system wouldn't need to be treated as a "safety service"; and this clause makes it clear that they must be.
The result of being classified as "evacuation equipment" is that a whole bunch of extra requirements apply to "Safety Services".
Remember also that a central system has both an incoiong supply, and outgoing subcircuits. Often the outgoing is ELV d.c - but not always. There are battery / inverter system, generator systems, etc. And even if it is ELV d.c, the rules of '3000' & relevant companion Standard(s) still apply.