VSD Cable - why multiple earths?

JamieP

VSD Cable - why multiple earths?

Post by JamieP »

I'm new to the industrial world and was working with VSD cable the other day and as most of you will know, along with the screen there were 3 core and rather than a single earth there was 3

I understand VSDs cause harmonics or odd frequencies (I think) so I assumed it was something to do with this

Can someone explain to me why there are 3 separate earth's as opposed to 1 in most cables?
AlecK
Answers: 5

Re: VSD Cable - why multiple earths?

Post by AlecK »

My understanding - though I'm by no means an expert - is that there is no particular technical reason for using the 3-PEC config.
Not all VFD cables use this config, some have a single PEC. Splitting the PEC into thee smaller conductors allows then to sit in between the three actives for an overall smaller diameter cable with minimal need for fillers.

What's important is that the PEC (overall) be full size, ie at least as big in total CSA as the Actives (not smaller, as is usual for TPS).
It also has to be low-impedance at (very) high frequency, so needs to be fine-stranded to provide plenty of surface area.

When dealing with this stuff, it helps to use VFD instead of VSD; because while the end-user cares about the speed of the motor on the end, all the technical stuff relates to the frequencies involved. Not just the nominal frequency; but also - in fact mostly - the frequencies generated by the very fast switching of the electronics that generate the nominal frequency.
These users thanked the author AlecK for the post:
JamieP (Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:38 pm)
Rating: 16.67%
DougP
Answers: 3

Post by DougP »

And how does this comply for conductors in parallel if they are under 4mm²?

As I've said previously, I don't believe that the 4mm² rule applies for conductors within the same multi core.